News Item

The "‘Elvis is Back!’ Sessions” from the Follow That Dream Collectors Series

October 24, 2011

Elvis is Back FTD

The "'Elvis is Back!' Sessions” from the Follow That Dream Collectors Series will be available on in the United States and through some international fan clubs in early December.

The special 2-disc, 180-gram vinyl set is sure to make Elvis fans around the world happy because it’s been the most requested FTD album for vinyl release ever.  This very limited release has been re-mastered from the original analogue tapes and includes lots of great photos from the Graceland archives in Memphis.

“Elvis Is Back!” was released in April 1960 and was Elvis’ tenth album. Recording sessions took place on March 20 and April 3, 1960, at RCA Studio B in Nashville, Tennessee. It was his first album to be released in true stereo and peaked at number two on the Top Pop Albums chart and is included in the book “1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die.”  The album was certified Gold on July 15, 1999, by the RIAA.

The Follow That Dream Collector Series
  (FTD) is a program created by Sony and EPE that serves the dedicated collector of Elvis material. There are currently over 50 titles available with additional titles released several times each year. These releases include material ranging from multiple takes from Elvis’ studio sessions (much of it previously unreleased), previously unreleased concert recordings often referred to as soundboard recordings, and Elvis movie soundtracks with previously unreleased material. Additionally, the FTD Collector Series includes deleted RCA titles that have been re-released exclusively on the FTD label with bonus material, much of it previously unreleased.

The FTD series is a fascinating and historically important look into the development of Elvis as a musical artist and the evolution of his career. The material is not available through downloads and in the U.S. is available exclusively through the stores at Elvis Presley’s Graceland in Memphis and online through

A pre-order for "'Elvis is Back!' Sessions" will be available through soon.

The "‘Elvis is Back!’ Sessions” Track Listing

Side 1
1. Such a Night (take 1) 3:14
    (Lincoln Chase)
2. Are You Lonesome Tonight?
   (takes 1, 2) 3:39
   (Roy Turk/Lou Handman)
3. Make Me Know It (take 3) 2:12
    (Otis Blackwell)
4. It’s Now Or Never (take 1) 3:28
    (Aaron Schroeder/Wally Gold)
5. It Feels So Right (take 1) 2:08
    (Fred Wise/Ben Weisman)
6. Thrill Of Your Love (takes 1,2,1-PB) 4:09
    (Stanley Kesler)
7. Stuck on You (take 1) 2:19
    (Aaron Schroeder/S. Leslie McFarland)

Side 2
1. Reconsider Baby (master) 3.44
   (Lowell Fulson)
2. Soldier Boy (take 1) 3:03
   (David Jones/Theodore Williams Jr.)
3. A Mess Of Blues (take 1) 2:56
   (Doc Pomus/Mort Shuman)
4. The Girl Of My Best Friend
   (takes 2, 4, 5, 6) 5:15
   (Beverly Ross/Sam Bobrick)
5. Fame And Fortune (take 2) 2:33
   (Fred Wise/Ben Weisman)
6. Like A Baby (take 1-FS/BD) 2:13
   (Jesse Stone)
7. Like A Baby (take 2) 2:42
   (Jesse Stone)

Side 3
 1.Dirty, Dirty Feeling
  (takes 2, 3-sp last chord    from 4/m) 1:44
  (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)
2. I Gotta Know (including take 1) 2:57
   (Paul Evans/M. Williams)
3. Such A Night (takes 2, 3, 4/5-sp) 3:50
  (Lincoln Chase)
4. Fever (take 1) 3:48
   (John Davenport/Eddie Cooley)
5. Are You Lonesome Tonight?
   (takes 4-FS, 3, wp 1/2-sp) 2:54
   (Roy Turk/Lou Handman)
6. Make Me Know It (takes 9, 10, 11) 2:41
   (Otis Blackwell)    
7. The Girl Next Door (Went A’Walking)
    (Takes 1, 2, 3) 3:43
   (Bill Rise/Thomas Wayne)

Side 4
1. It’s Now Or Never (take 2) 3:245
    (Aaron Shcroeder/Wally Gold)
2. It’s Now or Never (takes 3, 4) 3:56
    (Aaron Shcroeder/Wally Gold)
3. It Feels So Right (takes 4, 3) 2:41
    (Fred Wise/Ben Weisman)
4. The Girl Of My Best Friend (take 9) 2:26
    (Beverly Ross/Sam Bobrick)
5. A Mess Of Blues (takes 2, 3) 2:50
    (Doc Pomus/Mort Shuman)
6. Soldier Boy (takes 9, 10) 3:39
    (David Jones/Theodore Williams Jr.)
7. Make Me Know It (takes 17, 18) 2:46
    (Otis Blackwell)